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Overview

This fact sheet explains various
fees and charges associated with
cotton loans, loan settlements,
loan deficiency payments (LDPs)
and the movement of cotton loan
collateral (referred to as a cotton
transfer).

USDA’'s Commodity Credit
Corporation (CCC) marketing
assistance loans (MAL) enable
producers to store their production
after harvest, thereby increasing
producers’ opportunities to sell

and extend their market decisions.
The following fact sheets provide
additional information about

these loan programs for cotton:
Nonrecourse Marketing Assistance
Loan and Loan Deficiency Payment
Program (June 2003); Extra Long
Staple Cotton - Summary of 2000
Commodity Loan Program (January
2003); and Upland Cotton - Locking
the Adjusted World Price [AWP]

for Loan Deficiency Payments
(October 2002).

Loan and LDP Fees

CCC assesses a fee to cover a
portion of the administrative costs
for providing the loan. This loan
service fee is deducted from the
total amount of the loan before the
loan is disbursed to the producer.
The loan service fee is the smaller
of ¥ of 1 percent (.005), multiplied
by the gross loan amount, or
$7.50 per loan plus 90 cents for

each bale. No further service
fee is assessed when the LDP is
dispersed.

Research and Promotion Fees

Under regulations for administering
the Cotton Research and
Promotion Act, CCC collects
research and promotion fees.
These fees are deducted from
upland cotton loan proceeds and
LDPs and paid by CCC directly
to the Cotton Board. By statute,
the amount of the fee for loans is
different from the fee deducted
from LDPs. For loans, the fee is
$1.00 per bale plus %z percent of
the total loan value. For LDPs the
fee is ¥4 percent of the LDP.

Cotton Clerk Fee

If a cotton clerk prepares loan
documents at the request of a
producer, the clerk may collect fees
deducted from the loan proceeds,
not to exceed the following rates:
25 cents for the first bale plus 15
cents for bales two through six; for
seven or more bales, $1.00 plus 10
cents for each bale over six.

Charges Due at Time of
Collateral Forfeiture

Producers must refund certain
warehouse charges to CCC if

their cotton is delivered to the
warehouse but their loan is not
repaid. Producers should be
aware of the amounts due for these

charges before they elect to forfeit
the cotton to CCC.

Storage from Date of
Warehousing to Loan Date (Pre-
loan Storage Charges)

In the event that cotton loan
collateral is forfeited, CCC bills the
producer for the storage charges
that accrued from the warehouse
receiving date to the date that

the loan begins. The date that
the loan begins is defined as the
“‘documents received date” of

the loan. This date is the latter

of 1) the date all loan application
documents were received, or 2)
the date warehouse receipts were
received by CCC. These charges
are based on the warehouse
storage rate for loan cotton (also
referred to as the CCC-loan
storage rate).

Storage Charges during the Loan
Period

Effective for 2006-crop upland and
ELS cotton, any reduction in the
loan repayment amount for accrued
storage, or any payment of storage
charges for loan collateral that is
delivered to CCC in satisfaction of
the loan obligation, are the lesser
of the warehouse’s 2005-crop tariff
rate or the maximum rate in the
state where stored. In Arizona

and California the maximum rate

is $4.37 per bale per month, and
$2.66 per bale per month for
warehouses located in all other
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states.

If a cotton loan is repaid, the
storage charges that accrued while
the cotton was under loan may be
totally or partially subtracted from
the loan repayment amount. The
amount of this deduction depends
on the level of the adjusted world
price (AWP) bale value on the
repayment date and the rate

used by CCC to calculate storage
credits. The CCC storage-credit
rate may be less than the CCC-
loan storage rate set by the
warehouse.

If the AWP bale value is less than
the bale loan value, the entire
amount of the storage credit (based
on the CCC storage-credit rate
calculations) is deducted from the
repayment amount. If the AWP
bale value is equal to or above the
loan value of the bale, by less than
the sum of interest and warehouse
storage charges that accrued
during the loan, then the repayment
amount is reduced by all or part of
the storage credit. If the AWP bale
value is above the bale loan rate by
as much as or more than the sum
of interest and storage charges that
accrued during the loan, there is no
deduction for the storage charge.

If the cotton loan collateral

is forfeited to CCC, CCC
automatically pays the warehouse
its receiving charge and the
storage charges based on the
CCC-loan storage rate. CCC will
bill the producer for the receiving
charges, compression charges,
storage charges that accrued
before the loan, and any portion of
the accrued storage charges during
the period of the loan in excess

2

of charges based on the storage-
credit rate.

Unpaid Compression Charges

Starting with the 2006 crop,
producers forfeiting cotton to

CCC will be billed for any unpaid
compression charges. The
amount billed will be the actual
compression charge levied by

the gin/warehouse that shows

as unpaid on the warehouse
receipt. Ordinarily, a lien waiver
must be obtained for any lien

or encumbrance on the cotton
tendered for a loan. Because
compression charges are ordinarily
paid by the buyer of the cotton,
CCC does not require lien waivers
for unpaid compression, but holds
the producer responsible for paying
compression charges for cotton
forfeited to CCC.

Charges Under Cotton Transfer

A transfer of cotton means the
process for a producer or the
producer’s authorized agent to
move warehouse-stored loan
collateral to another warehouse.
Cotton must be represented by
electronic warehouse receipts to
be eligible for transfer. Transfers of
cotton may result from unforeseen
events such as a warehouse going
out of business or storm damage.
Starting with 2006-crop cotton,
transfers may also be requested by
producers or by authorized agents
of producers. Such transfers

may be requested to improve the
marketing locations or provide for
more timely delivery. Producers
must consent to having their loan
collateral transferred by either
submitting a transfer request in

writing to CCC or by authorizing an
agent to do so.

If CCC informs a producer that
cotton loan collateral must be
moved for any reason, the producer
may either agree to the transfer

or redeem the cotton from loan at
the initial warehouse. Under such
circumstances, if the producer
elects to transfer the cotton to
another warehouse, all charges
are paid by the requestor. Transfer
charges are listed in the table on
the following page.

Loan Offset and Assignment
Charges

A loan offset charge is an amount
deducted from a loan or LDP to pay
an amount owed to CCC, the FSA,
or other federal creditors, or other
debts having lien status under state
law.

An assignment charge is a transfer
of a person’s right for a payment to
another party.

For More Information

Further information on this and
other FSA programs is available
from local FSA offices or on FSA’s
Web site at: www.fsa.usda.gov.

The U.S. Department of Agriculture (USDA) prohibits
discrimination in all its programs and activities on the
basis of race, color, national origin, age, disability, and
where applicable, sex, marital status, familial status,
parental status, religion, sexual orientation, genetic
information, political beliefs, reprisal, or because all or
part of an individual’s income is derived from any public
assistance program. (Not all prohibited bases apply to
all programs.) Persons with disabilities who require al-
ternative means for communication of program informa-
tion (Braille, large print, audiotape, etc.) should contact
USDA’s TARGET Center at (202) 720-2600 (voice and
TDD). To file a complaint of Discrimination, write to
USDA, Director, Office of Civil Rights, 1400 Indepen-
dence Avenue, SW., Washington, DC 20250-9410, or
call (800) 795-3272 (voice) or (202) 720-6382 (TDD).
USDA is an equal opportunity provider and employer.
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Charge

Receiving at
warehouse

Pre-loan
Storage

Accrued
Storage
During Loan
Period

After Loan
Storage

Compression

Load-out

Freight to
Receiving
Warehouse

Loan Without Transfer

Paid by buyer upon load-
out. If collateral is forfeited,
paid to warehouse by
CCC, then billed to
producer.

Paid by producer or buyer.
If collateral is forfeited, paid
to warehouse by CCC and
billed to producer based on
the CCC loan rate.

Depending on AWP level,
CCC may reduce the
loan repayment amount
for all or a portion of the
storage charges during
the loan period based

on CCC'’s storage credit
rate for the warehouse.
Buyer pays any balance
due to warehouse if

the warehouse charges
exceed the CCC credit.
Paid by buyer. If forfeited,
CCC pays the warehouse
at the CCC loan rate

and bills the producer for
any amount paid to the
warehouse exceeding the
storage-credit rate.

Paid by buyer upon load-
out; if cotton forfeits, paid
by CCC, then billed to
producer.

Paid by buyer.

Paid by producer.

Transfer of Loan Collateral

Shipping Warehouse
Paid by requestor

of transfer; payment
may be required for
load-out.

Paid by requestor

of transfer. If
transferred, collateral
is forfeited. CCC'’s
automated process
will pay this charge,
then bill the producer
(possibly duplicating
payment by
requestor).

Paid by requestor.
Payment may be
required prior to
load-out.

Paid by buyer.

Paid by requestor of
transfer.

Paid by requestor of
transfer. Payment
may be required prior
to load-out.

n/a

Receiving Warehouse
Paid by requestor of
transfer. If forfeited,
paid by CCC, then
billed to producer.

Not applicable.
Cotton is under loan
when received.

Paid by buyer when
cotton is redeemed.
The loan redemption
amount may be
reduced by CCC
based on the CCC
storage credit rate
applicable at the
shipping warehouse
for the entire loan
period.

Paid by buyer.

Paid by buyer upon
load-out. If cotton
forfeits, paid by
CCC, then billed to
producer.

Paid by buyer.

Paid by requestor of
transfer.
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